Skip To Main Content

Board of Education


Region I Region II             Region III            
Chris Scaff
Elisabeth Lynch
Polly Donahay

Chris Scaff

  • Greene Township
  • Logan Township
  • Porter Township
  • Loganton Borough

Elisabeth Lynch

  • Lamar Township
  • Mill Hall Borough

Polly Donahay

  • Beech Creek Borough
  • Beech Creek Township
  • Curtin Township
  • Liberty Township
Region IV Region V Region VI
Jeff Johnston
Tracy Smith


William Baldino


Jeff Johnston

  • Dunstable Township
  • Wayne Township
  • Pine Creek II Township

Tracy Smith

  • Lock Haven 1st Ward
  • Woodward Township
  • Colebrook Township

Dr. William Baldino

  • Lock Haven 2nd & 3rd Ward
  • Allison Township
Region VII Region VIII Region IX
Roger Elling
Tom Cannon
James %22Butch%22 Knauff

Roger Elling (Vice-President)

  • Lock Haven 4th & 5th Wards

Tom Cannon

  • Castanea Township
  • Bald Eagle Township
  • Flemington Borough

James "Butch" Knauff

  • Renovo Borough
  • South Renovo Borough
  • Leidy Township
  • Chapman Township
  • Steward Township
  • East Keating Township
  • Noyes Township
  • Grugan Township
  • Gallagher Township


PSBA Principles for Governance and Leadership

Lead Responsibly

  • Prepare for, attend and actively participate in board meetings
  • Work together with civility and cooperation, respecting that individuals hold differing opinions and ideas
  • Participate in professional development, training and board retreats
  • Collaborate with the superintendent, acknowledging their role as the 10th member of the board and commissioned officer of the commonwealth 

Act Ethically

  • Never use the position for improper benefit to self or others
  • Avoid actual or perceived conflicts of interest
  • Recognize school directors do not possess any authority outside of the collective board
  • Accept that when a board has made a decision, it is time to move forward collectively and constructively



Plan Thoughtfully

  • Implement a collaborative strategic planning process
  • Set annual goals that are aligned with comprehensive plans, recognizing the need to adapt as situations change
  • Develop a comprehensive financial plan and master facilities plan that anticipates short- and long-term needs
  • Allocate resources to effectively impact student success

Govern Effectively

  • Establish and adhere to rules and procedures for board operations
  • Develop, adopt, revise and review policy routinely
  • Align board decisions to policy, ensuring compliance with the PA School Code and other local, state and federal laws
  • Remain focused on the role of governance, effectively delegating management tasks to the administration

Evaluate Continuously

  • Make data-informed decisions
  • Evaluate the superintendent annually
  • Conduct a board self-assessment on a recurring basis
  • Focus on student growth and achievement
  • Review effectiveness of all comprehensive and strategic plans




Communicate Clearly

  • Promote open, honest and respectful dialogue among the board, staff and community
  • Acknowledge and listen to varied input from all stakeholders
  • Promote transparency while protecting necessary confidential matters
  • Set expectations and guidelines for individual board member communication

Advocate Earnestly

  • Promote public education as a keystone of our commonwealth
  • Engage the community be seeking input, building support networks and generating action
  • Champion public education by engaging local, state and federal officials